Correct documentation on digest used.
authorDr. Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
Thu, 12 May 2016 14:02:04 +0000 (15:02 +0100)
committerDr. Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
Fri, 13 May 2016 11:00:19 +0000 (12:00 +0100)
RT#4302

Reviewed-by: Viktor Dukhovni <viktor@openssl.org>
doc/apps/x509.pod

index 2dc225b..30b770b 100644 (file)
@@ -112,9 +112,8 @@ the digest to use.
 This affects any signing or display option that uses a message
 digest, such as the B<-fingerprint>, B<-signkey> and B<-CA> options.
 Any digest supported by the OpenSSL B<dgst> command can be used.
-If not specified then SHA1 is used.
-Note that if a DSA key is used for signing, then this flag is ignored
-and SHA1 is used.
+If not specified then SHA1 is used with B<-fingerprint> or
+the default digest for the signing algorithm is used, typically SHA256.
 
 =item B<-engine id>