Document the change in the previous commit about loading the config file
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Tue, 3 Apr 2018 09:03:34 +0000 (10:03 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 5 Apr 2018 14:30:12 +0000 (15:30 +0100)
When libssl is initialised it will attempt to load any config file. This
ensures any system_default configuration (as per
https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/4848) is used.

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/5818)

CHANGES
doc/man3/OPENSSL_init_crypto.pod

diff --git a/CHANGES b/CHANGES
index 40b5823..e5f6cb6 100644 (file)
--- a/CHANGES
+++ b/CHANGES
@@ -13,6 +13,9 @@
      in libcrypto when run as setuid/setgid.
      [Bernd Edlinger]
 
+  *) Load any config file by default when libssl is used.
+     [Matt Caswell]
+
   *) Added new public header file <openssl/rand_drbg.h> and documentation
      for the RAND_DRBG API. See manual page RAND_DRBG(7) for an overview.
      [Matthias St. Pierre]
index ce7497e..c6a1715 100644 (file)
@@ -95,8 +95,10 @@ B<OPENSSL_INIT_ADD_ALL_DIGESTS> will be ignored.
 =item OPENSSL_INIT_LOAD_CONFIG
 
 With this option an OpenSSL configuration file will be automatically loaded and
-used by calling OPENSSL_config(). This is not a default option.
-See the description of OPENSSL_INIT_new(), below.
+used by calling OPENSSL_config(). This is not a default option for libcrypto.
+From OpenSSL 1.1.1 this is a default option for libssl (see
+L<OPENSSL_init_ssl(3)> for further details about libssl initialisation). See the
+description of OPENSSL_INIT_new(), below.
 
 =item OPENSSL_INIT_NO_LOAD_CONFIG