INSTALL,NOTES.WIN: classify no-asm as non-production option.
authorAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Tue, 24 Jul 2018 13:02:32 +0000 (15:02 +0200)
committerAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Wed, 25 Jul 2018 13:47:12 +0000 (15:47 +0200)
Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6773)

INSTALL
NOTES.WIN

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 51141ef..98c34d6 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
                    no-shared option.
 
   no-asm
-                   Do not use assembler code. On some platforms a small amount
-                   of assembler code may still be used.
+                   Do not use assembler code. This should be viewed as
+                   debugging/trouble-shooting option rather than production.
+                   On some platforms a small amount of assembler code may
+                   still be used even with this option.
 
   no-async
                    Do not build support for async operations.
index 014036c..4d39d06 100644 (file)
--- a/NOTES.WIN
+++ b/NOTES.WIN
    the other hand oldest one is known not to work. Everything between
    falls into best-effort category.
 
- - Netwide Assembler, a.k.a. NASM, available from http://www.nasm.us,
-   is required if you intend to utilize assembler modules. Note that NASM
-   is the only supported assembler. The Microsoft provided assembler is NOT
-   supported.
+ - Netwide Assembler, a.k.a. NASM, available from https://www.nasm.us,
+   is required. Note that NASM is the only supported assembler. Even
+   though Microsoft provided assembler is NOT supported, contemporary
+   64-bit version is exercised through continuous integration of
+   VC-WIN64A-masm target.
 
 
  Installation directories