Add a warning about using enable-crypto-mdebug-backtrace
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 2 Jun 2016 10:14:52 +0000 (12:14 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 2 Jun 2016 11:00:31 +0000 (13:00 +0200)
Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
INSTALL

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index ab35353..901a5c0 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
   enable-crypto-mdebug-backtrace
                    As for crypto-mdebug, but additionally provide backtrace
                    information for allocated memory.
+                   TO BE USED WITH CARE: this uses GNU C functionality, and
+                   is therefore not usable for non-GNU config targets.  If
+                   your build complains about the use of '-rdynamic' or the
+                   lack of header file execinfo.h, this option is not for you.
+                   ALSO NOTE that even though execinfo.h is available on your
+                   system (through Gnulib), the functions might just be stubs
+                   that do nothing.
 
   no-ct
                    Don't build support for Certificate Transparency.