Add a CHANGES entry for the deprecated cleanup functions
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Mon, 4 Apr 2016 16:12:58 +0000 (17:12 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 13 Apr 2016 07:52:34 +0000 (08:52 +0100)
Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
CHANGES

diff --git a/CHANGES b/CHANGES
index b71b850..c0d85b3 100644 (file)
--- a/CHANGES
+++ b/CHANGES
@@ -3,6 +3,17 @@
  _______________
 
  Changes between 1.0.2g and 1.1.0  [xx XXX xxxx]
+  *) Make various cleanup routines no-ops and mark them as deprecated. Most
+     global cleanup functions are no longer required because they are handled
+     via auto-deinit (see OPENSSL_init_crypto and OPENSSL_init_ssl man pages).
+     Explicitly de-initing can cause problems (e.g. where a library that uses
+     OpenSSL de-inits, but an application is still using it). The affected
+     functions are CONF_modules_free(), ENGINE_cleanup(), OBJ_cleanup(),
+     EVP_cleanup(), BIO_sock_cleanup(), CRYPTO_cleanup_all_ex_data(),
+     RAND_cleanup(), SSL_COMP_free_compression_methods(), ERR_free_strings() and
+     COMP_zlib_cleanup().
+     [Matt Caswell]
 
   *) --strict-warnings no longer enables runtime debugging options
      such as REF_DEBUG. Instead, debug options are automatically