Document when a session gets removed from cache
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Mon, 23 Apr 2018 10:23:43 +0000 (11:23 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Tue, 24 Apr 2018 08:23:23 +0000 (09:23 +0100)
Document the fact that if a session is not closed down cleanly then the
session gets removed from the cache and marked as non-resumable.

Fixes #4720

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Paul Dale <paul.dale@oracle.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6053)

doc/man3/SSL_get_session.pod

index b2e92af..7ed6353 100644 (file)
@@ -48,6 +48,11 @@ SSL_SESSION object that cannot be used for resumption in TLSv1.3. It also
 enables applications to obtain information about all sessions sent by the
 server.
 
+A session will be automatically removed from the session cache and marked as
+non-resumable if the connection is not closed down cleanly, e.g. if a fatal
+error occurs on the connection or L<SSL_shutdown(3)> is not called prior to
+L<SSL_free(3)>.
+
 In TLSv1.3 it is recommended that each SSL_SESSION object is only used for
 resumption once.