ts: Fix awkward sentences in the documentation and the default digest
authorTomas Mraz <tmraz@fedoraproject.org>
Wed, 12 Jun 2019 10:01:19 +0000 (12:01 +0200)
committerTomas Mraz <tmraz@fedoraproject.org>
Wed, 12 Jun 2019 10:06:15 +0000 (12:06 +0200)
Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/9143)

doc/man1/ts.pod

index 66b8295..ade077a 100644 (file)
@@ -170,7 +170,7 @@ in use. (Optional)
 
 The message digest to apply to the data file.
 Any digest supported by the OpenSSL B<dgst> command can be used.
-The default is SHA-1. (Optional)
+The default is SHA-256. (Optional)
 
 =item B<-tspolicy> object_id
 
@@ -530,8 +530,9 @@ openssl/apps/openssl.cnf will do.
 
 =head2 Time Stamp Request
 
-To create a time stamp request for design1.txt with SHA-256
-without nonce and policy and no certificate is required in the response:
+To create a time stamp request for design1.txt with SHA-256 digest,
+without nonce and policy, and without requirement for a certificate
+in the response:
 
   openssl ts -query -data design1.txt -no_nonce \
         -out design1.tsq
@@ -547,7 +548,7 @@ To print the content of the previous request in human readable format:
   openssl ts -query -in design1.tsq -text
 
 To create a time stamp request which includes the SHA-512 digest
-of design2.txt, requests the signer certificate and nonce,
+of design2.txt, requests the signer certificate and nonce, and
 specifies a policy id (assuming the tsa_policy1 name is defined in the
 OID section of the config file):