State the minimum Perl version that our scripts will work with
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 11 Feb 2016 21:06:17 +0000 (22:06 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 11 Feb 2016 21:11:48 +0000 (22:11 +0100)
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
README.PERL

index c2db019..184b377 100644 (file)
@@ -23,8 +23,9 @@
  - on Linux distributions based on RPMs, you will need to install
    'perl-core' rather than just 'perl'.
 
- It is highly recommended that you have at least Perl version 5.10
- installed.
+ You MUST have at least Perl version 5.10.0 installed.  This minimum
+ requirement is due to our use of regexp backslash sequence \R among
+ other features that didn't exist in core Perl before that version.
 
  Notes on Perl on Windows
  ------------------------