RT1596: Add clarifying doc.
authorRich Salz <rsalz@akamai.com>
Fri, 5 Feb 2016 14:28:05 +0000 (09:28 -0500)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Fri, 5 Feb 2016 17:45:59 +0000 (12:45 -0500)
Reviewed-by: Viktor Dukhovni <viktor@openssl.org>
doc/apps/x509.pod

index e4bcb4a..7dde927 100644 (file)
@@ -332,7 +332,8 @@ subject name (i.e.  makes it self signed) changes the public key to the
 supplied value and changes the start and end dates. The start date is
 set to the current time and the end date is set to a value determined
 by the B<-days> option. Any certificate extensions are retained unless
-the B<-clrext> option is supplied.
+the B<-clrext> option is supplied; this includes, for example, any existing
+key identifier extensions.
 
 If the input is a certificate request then a self signed certificate
 is created using the supplied private key using the subject name in