Configure: clang: move -Wno-unknown-warning-option to the front
authorDr. Matthias St. Pierre <Matthias.St.Pierre@ncp-e.com>
Tue, 23 Jul 2019 18:54:03 +0000 (20:54 +0200)
committerDr. Matthias St. Pierre <Matthias.St.Pierre@ncp-e.com>
Sun, 8 Sep 2019 08:59:56 +0000 (10:59 +0200)
While gcc ignores unknown options of the type '-Wno-xxx', clang by default issues
a warning [-Wunknown-warning-option] (see [3]), which together with '-Werror'
causes the build to fail. This turned out to be a problem on the 1.0.2 stable branch
in the case of the '-Wextended-offsetof' option, which was removed in version 6.0.0,
but needs to be kept here in order to support older clang versions, too (see #9446).

Incidentally, master and 1.1.1 branch already contained the -Wno-unknown-warning-option
option. Due to its special role and its importance, this commit adds an explaining
commit message and moves the option to the front.

[extended tests]

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Bernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de>
Reviewed-by: Paul Dale <paul.dale@oracle.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/9447)

Configure

index 21bd348..a5b56a0 100755 (executable)
--- a/Configure
+++ b/Configure
@@ -144,13 +144,13 @@ my @gcc_devteam_warn = qw(
 #       -Wunused-macros -- no, too tricky for BN and _XOPEN_SOURCE etc
 #       -Wextended-offsetof -- no, needed in CMS ASN1 code
 my @clang_devteam_warn = qw(
+    -Wno-unknown-warning-option
     -Wswitch-default
     -Wno-parentheses-equality
     -Wno-language-extension-token
     -Wno-extended-offsetof
     -Wconditional-uninitialized
     -Wincompatible-pointer-types-discards-qualifiers
-    -Wno-unknown-warning-option
     -Wmissing-variable-declarations
 );