Document recent changes in NEWS and CHANGES
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 31 Jul 2019 04:59:37 +0000 (06:59 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 31 Jul 2019 07:33:24 +0000 (09:33 +0200)
More should be added there

Reviewed-by: Paul Yang <kaishen.yy@antfin.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/9486)

CHANGES
NEWS

diff --git a/CHANGES b/CHANGES
index 80ad49e..dd230d6 100644 (file)
--- a/CHANGES
+++ b/CHANGES
@@ -9,6 +9,14 @@
 
  Changes between 1.1.1 and 3.0.0 [xx XXX xxxx]
 
+  *) Introduced new error raising macros, ERR_raise() and ERR_raise_data(),
+     where the former acts as a replacement for ERR_put_error(), and the
+     latter replaces the combination ERR_put_error()+ERR_add_error_data().
+     ERR_raise_data() adds more flexibility by taking a format string and
+     an arbitrary number of arguments following it, to be processed with
+     BIO_snprintf().
+     [Richard Levitte]
+
   *) Introduced a new function, OSSL_PROVIDER_available(), which can be used
      to check if a named provider is loaded and available.  When called, it
      will also activate all fallback providers if such are still present.
diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index aeb2eb7..0463af6 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -7,6 +7,9 @@
 
   Major changes between OpenSSL 1.1.1 and OpenSSL 3.0.0 [under development]
 
+      o Added error raising macros, ERR_raise() and ERR_raise_data().
+      o Deprecated ERR_put_error().
+      o Added OSSL_PROVIDER_available(), to check provider availibility.
       o Added 'openssl mac' that uses the EVP_MAC API.
       o Added 'openssl kdf' that uses the EVP_KDF API.
       o Add OPENSSL_info() and 'openssl info' to get built-in data.