Expand SSL_CTX_set_default_verify_paths() documentation
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 9 Jun 2016 13:48:40 +0000 (14:48 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Fri, 10 Jun 2016 14:47:07 +0000 (15:47 +0100)
Add some information about the location of the default directory and the
default file.

RT#1051

Reviewed-by: Andy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
doc/ssl/SSL_CTX_load_verify_locations.pod

index 7e78bc6..59d11e0 100644 (file)
@@ -25,9 +25,13 @@ SSL_CTX_load_verify_locations() specifies the locations for B<ctx>, at
 which CA certificates for verification purposes are located. The certificates
 available via B<CAfile> and B<CApath> are trusted.
 
-SSL_CTX_set_default_verify_paths() specifies that the default locations for
+SSL_CTX_set_default_verify_paths() specifies that the default locations from
 which CA certificates are loaded should be used. There is one default directory
-and one default file.
+and one default file. The default CA certificates directory is called "certs" in
+the default OpenSSL directory. Alternatively the SSL_CERT_DIR environment
+variable can be defined to override this location. The default CA certificates
+file is called "cert.pem" in the default OpenSSL directory. Alternatively the
+SSL_CERT_FILE environment variable can be defined to override this location.
 
 SSL_CTX_set_default_verify_dir() is similar to
 SSL_CTX_set_default_verify_paths() except that just the default directory is