Support directories with "." in x509_load_serial()
authorAna María Martínez Gómez <ammartinez@suse.de>
Fri, 22 Jun 2018 22:01:17 +0000 (00:01 +0200)
committerDr. Matthias St. Pierre <Matthias.St.Pierre@ncp-e.com>
Sun, 24 Jun 2018 13:42:28 +0000 (15:42 +0200)
Use `strrchr` to get a pointer to the last occurrence of `.` in the
path string, instead of the first one with `strchr`.  This prevent the
path to be wrongly split if it contains several `.`, and not only the
one for the extension.

Fixes https://github.com/openssl/openssl/issues/6489.

CLA: trivial

Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Matthias St. Pierre <Matthias.St.Pierre@ncp-e.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6566)

apps/x509.c

index 1136642..d40960c 100644 (file)
@@ -916,7 +916,7 @@ static ASN1_INTEGER *x509_load_serial(const char *CAfile,
     BIGNUM *serial = NULL;
 
     if (serialfile == NULL) {
-        const char *p = strchr(CAfile, '.');
+        const char *p = strrchr(CAfile, '.');
         size_t len = p != NULL ? (size_t)(p - CAfile) : strlen(CAfile);
 
         buf = app_malloc(len + sizeof(POSTFIX), "serial# buffer");