VMS: support VERBOSE and V in descrip.mms
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Sun, 8 May 2016 14:57:55 +0000 (16:57 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Mon, 9 May 2016 14:11:36 +0000 (16:11 +0200)
With Unixly Makefiles as well as with nmake, make variables are
transferred to the shell running the commands as envinronment
variables.  This principle doesn't apply with MMS, so we must
explicitely define VERBOSE as commands when it's needed.

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Configurations/descrip.mms.tmpl
INSTALL

index df2c9e1..83ee614 100644 (file)
@@ -82,6 +82,10 @@ CONFIGURE_ARGS=({- join(", ",quotify_l(@{$config{perlargv}})) -})
 SRCDIR={- $config{sourcedir} -}
 BUILDDIR={- $config{builddir} -}
 
+# Allow both V and VERBOSE to indicate verbosity.  This only applies
+# to testing.
+VERBOSE=$(V)
+
 VERSION={- $config{version} -}
 MAJOR={- $config{major} -}
 MINOR={- $config{minor} -}
@@ -234,6 +238,7 @@ test tests : configdata.pm, -
         DEFINE SRCTOP {- sourcedir() -}
         DEFINE BLDTOP {- builddir() -}
         DEFINE OPENSSL_ENGINES {- builddir("engines") -}
+        IF "$(VERBOSE)" .NES. "" THEN DEFINE VERBOSE "$(VERBOSE)"
         $(PERL) {- sourcefile("test", "run_tests.pl") -} $(TESTS)
         DEASSIGN OPENSSL_ENGINES
         DEASSIGN BLDTOP
diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 6010df3..4283e9d 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
 
        $ make VERBOSE=1 test                            # Unix
 
-       $ DEFINE VERBOSE 1
-       $ mms test                                       ! OpenVMS
+       $ mms /macro=(VERBOSE=1) test                    ! OpenVMS
 
        $ nmake VERBOSE=1 test                           # Windows