Clarify documentation of SSL_CTX_set_verify client side behavior
authorTomas Mraz <tmraz@fedoraproject.org>
Tue, 2 Jul 2019 11:32:29 +0000 (13:32 +0200)
committerTomas Mraz <tmraz@fedoraproject.org>
Thu, 4 Jul 2019 15:01:27 +0000 (17:01 +0200)
Fixes #9259

Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/9291)

doc/man3/SSL_CTX_set_verify.pod

index 7c151a5..b72227c 100644 (file)
@@ -102,7 +102,7 @@ B<Server mode:> if the client did not return a certificate, the TLS/SSL
 handshake is immediately terminated with a "handshake failure" alert.
 This flag must be used together with SSL_VERIFY_PEER.
 
-B<Client mode:> ignored
+B<Client mode:> ignored (see BUGS)
 
 =item SSL_VERIFY_CLIENT_ONCE
 
@@ -112,7 +112,7 @@ renegotiation or post-authentication if a certificate was requested
 during the initial handshake. This flag must be used together with
 SSL_VERIFY_PEER.
 
-B<Client mode:> ignored
+B<Client mode:> ignored (see BUGS)
 
 =item SSL_VERIFY_POST_HANDSHAKE
 
@@ -123,7 +123,7 @@ to be configured for post-handshake peer verification before the
 handshake occurs. This flag must be used together with
 SSL_VERIFY_PEER. TLSv1.3 only; no effect on pre-TLSv1.3 connections.
 
-B<Client mode:> ignored
+B<Client mode:> ignored (see BUGS)
 
 =back
 
@@ -203,8 +203,8 @@ message is sent to the client.
 =head1 BUGS
 
 In client mode, it is not checked whether the SSL_VERIFY_PEER flag
-is set, but whether any flags are set. This can lead to
-unexpected behaviour if SSL_VERIFY_PEER and other flags are not used as
+is set, but whether any flags other than SSL_VERIFY_NONE are set. This can
+lead to unexpected behaviour if SSL_VERIFY_PEER and other flags are not used as
 required.
 
 =head1 RETURN VALUES