Workaround for Windows-based GOST implementations
authorDmitry Belyavskiy <beldmit@gmail.com>
Thu, 7 Nov 2019 14:58:15 +0000 (17:58 +0300)
committerDmitry Belyavskiy <beldmit@gmail.com>
Sun, 10 Nov 2019 15:59:26 +0000 (18:59 +0300)
Many Windows-based GOST TLS implementations are unable to extend the
list of supported SignatureAlgorithms because of lack of the necessary
callback in Windows. So for TLS 1.2 it makes sense to imply the support
of GOST algorithms in case when the GOST ciphersuites are present.

Reviewed-by: Paul Dale <paul.dale@oracle.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/10377)

ssl/t1_lib.c

index f13183a..afb7285 100644 (file)
@@ -2864,6 +2864,26 @@ int tls_choose_sigalg(SSL *s, int fatalerrs)
 #endif
                         break;
                 }
+#ifndef OPENSSL_NO_GOST
+                /*
+                 * Some Windows-based implementations do not send GOST algorithms indication
+                 * in supported_algorithms extension, so when we have GOST-based ciphersuite,
+                 * we have to assume GOST support.
+                 */
+                if (i == s->shared_sigalgslen && s->s3.tmp.new_cipher->algorithm_auth & (SSL_aGOST01 | SSL_aGOST12)) {
+                  if ((lu = tls1_get_legacy_sigalg(s, -1)) == NULL) {
+                    if (!fatalerrs)
+                      return 1;
+                    SSLfatal(s, SSL_AD_HANDSHAKE_FAILURE,
+                             SSL_F_TLS_CHOOSE_SIGALG,
+                             SSL_R_NO_SUITABLE_SIGNATURE_ALGORITHM);
+                    return 0;
+                  } else {
+                    i = 0;
+                    sig_idx = lu->sig_idx;
+                  }
+                }
+#endif
                 if (i == s->shared_sigalgslen) {
                     if (!fatalerrs)
                         return 1;