Remove some dead code
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Mon, 17 Jul 2017 15:55:32 +0000 (16:55 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 19 Jul 2017 10:49:08 +0000 (11:49 +0100)
The intention of the removed code was to check if the previous operation
carried. However this does not work. The "mask" value always ends up being
a constant and is all ones - thus it has no effect. This check is no longer
required because of the previous commit.

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/3832)

crypto/evp/e_aes_cbc_hmac_sha1.c
crypto/evp/e_aes_cbc_hmac_sha256.c

index 65f13c2..09d24dc 100644 (file)
@@ -539,9 +539,6 @@ static int aesni_cbc_hmac_sha1_cipher(EVP_CIPHER_CTX *ctx, unsigned char *out,
             pad = constant_time_select(mask, pad, maxpad);
 
             inp_len = len - (SHA_DIGEST_LENGTH + pad + 1);
-            mask = (0 - ((inp_len - len) >> (sizeof(inp_len) * 8 - 1)));
-            inp_len &= mask;
-            ret &= (int)mask;
 
             key->aux.tls_aad[plen - 2] = inp_len >> 8;
             key->aux.tls_aad[plen - 1] = inp_len;
index 65fbb91..bca6e10 100644 (file)
@@ -549,9 +549,6 @@ static int aesni_cbc_hmac_sha256_cipher(EVP_CIPHER_CTX *ctx,
             pad = constant_time_select(mask, pad, maxpad);
 
             inp_len = len - (SHA256_DIGEST_LENGTH + pad + 1);
-            mask = (0 - ((inp_len - len) >> (sizeof(inp_len) * 8 - 1)));
-            inp_len &= mask;
-            ret &= (int)mask;
 
             key->aux.tls_aad[plen - 2] = inp_len >> 8;
             key->aux.tls_aad[plen - 1] = inp_len;