The SHA256 is not a mandatory digest for DSA.
authorTomas Mraz <tmraz@fedoraproject.org>
Mon, 27 May 2019 14:52:03 +0000 (16:52 +0200)
committerTomas Mraz <tmraz@fedoraproject.org>
Tue, 28 May 2019 15:14:47 +0000 (17:14 +0200)
The #7408 implemented mandatory digest checking in TLS.
However this broke compatibility of DSS support with GnuTLS
which supports only SHA1 with DSS.

There is no reason why SHA256 would be a mandatory digest
for DSA as other digests in SHA family can be used as well.

Reviewed-by: Paul Dale <paul.dale@oracle.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/9015)

crypto/dsa/dsa_ameth.c

index 756ee74..ef6fc76 100644 (file)
@@ -505,7 +505,7 @@ static int dsa_pkey_ctrl(EVP_PKEY *pkey, int op, long arg1, void *arg2)
 
     case ASN1_PKEY_CTRL_DEFAULT_MD_NID:
         *(int *)arg2 = NID_sha256;
-        return 2;
+        return 1;
 
     default:
         return -2;