Fix bug in err_string_data_cmp
authorRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Sat, 8 Jul 2017 16:43:55 +0000 (12:43 -0400)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Thu, 13 Jul 2017 21:36:19 +0000 (17:36 -0400)
Unsigned overflow.  Thanks to Brian Carpenter for reporting this.

Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/3887)

crypto/err/err.c

index e50c6d6..8d0ed6f 100644 (file)
@@ -162,7 +162,9 @@ static unsigned long err_string_data_hash(const ERR_STRING_DATA *a)
 static int err_string_data_cmp(const ERR_STRING_DATA *a,
                                const ERR_STRING_DATA *b)
 {
-    return (int)(a->error - b->error);
+    if (a->error == b->error)
+        return 0;
+    return a->error > b->error ? 1 : -1;
 }
 
 static ERR_STRING_DATA *int_err_get_item(const ERR_STRING_DATA *d)