doc/man1/x509.pod: corrected "S/MIME signing" requirements
authorKonstantin Shemyak <konstantin@shemyak.com>
Thu, 22 Mar 2018 17:53:59 +0000 (19:53 +0200)
committerAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Tue, 27 Mar 2018 18:08:31 +0000 (20:08 +0200)
When the "certificate purpose" is checked and KeyUsage extension is present,
either 'digitalSignature' or 'nonRepudiation' is accepted.

Manual page corrected to reflect the above.

Signed-off-by: Konstantin Shemyak <konstantin@shemyak.com>
Reviewed-by: Andy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/5727)

doc/man1/x509.pod

index 81ce560..c375b3b 100644 (file)
@@ -871,8 +871,8 @@ this is because some Verisign certificates don't set the S/MIME bit.
 
 =item B<S/MIME Signing>
 
 
 =item B<S/MIME Signing>
 
-In addition to the common S/MIME client tests the digitalSignature bit must
-be set if the keyUsage extension is present.
+In addition to the common S/MIME client tests the digitalSignature bit or
+the nonRepudiation bit must be set if the keyUsage extension is present.
 
 =item B<S/MIME Encryption>
 
 
 =item B<S/MIME Encryption>