Comment away the extra checks in Configure
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 9 Mar 2016 16:18:07 +0000 (17:18 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 9 Mar 2016 16:59:14 +0000 (17:59 +0100)
The "extra checks" is a debugging tool to check the config resolving
mechanism.  It uses Perl's smart match, which is experimental and
therefore always causes Perl to give out a warning, and it causes
older Perl versions to fail entirely.

So, it gets commented away, but stays otherwise in place, as it may be
useful again.

Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Configure

index 57d8a5a..eb7e54c 100755 (executable)
--- a/Configure
+++ b/Configure
@@ -2058,7 +2058,7 @@ sub resolve_config {
     my $target = shift;
     my @breadcrumbs = @_;
 
-    my $extra_checks = defined($ENV{CONFIGURE_EXTRA_CHECKS});
+#    my $extra_checks = defined($ENV{CONFIGURE_EXTRA_CHECKS});
 
     if (grep { $_ eq $target } @breadcrumbs) {
        die "inherit_from loop!  target backtrace:\n  "
@@ -2158,10 +2158,10 @@ sub resolve_config {
         unless(defined($table{$target}->{$_})) {
             delete $table{$target}->{$_};
         }
-        if ($extra_checks &&
-            $previous && !($add_called ||  $previous ~~ $table{$target}->{$_})) {
-            warn "$_ got replaced in $target\n";
-        }
+#        if ($extra_checks &&
+#            $previous && !($add_called ||  $previous ~~ $table{$target}->{$_})) {
+#            warn "$_ got replaced in $target\n";
+#        }
     }
 
     # Finally done, return the result.