Don't change a session once its in the cache
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Fri, 22 Jun 2018 13:15:33 +0000 (14:15 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 11:08:53 +0000 (12:08 +0100)
Sessions should be immutable once they are in the cache because they could
be shared with other threads. If you change them then this can cause
corruptions and races

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6561)

ssl/statem/statem_srvr.c

index c2976b7..df3f15a 100644 (file)
@@ -3796,10 +3796,11 @@ int tls_construct_new_session_ticket(SSL *s, WPACKET *pkt)
             cb(s, SSL_CB_HANDSHAKE_START, 1);
         }
         /*
-         * If we already sent one NewSessionTicket then we need to take a copy
-         * of it and create a new session from it.
+         * If we already sent one NewSessionTicket, or we resumed then
+         * s->session may already be in a cache and so we must not modify it.
+         * Instead we need to take a copy of it and modify that.
          */
-        if (s->sent_tickets != 0) {
+        if (s->sent_tickets != 0 || s->hit) {
             SSL_SESSION *new_sess = ssl_session_dup(s->session, 0);
 
             if (new_sess == NULL) {