Recognise VERBOSE and V as well as HARNESS_VERBOSE
authorDr. Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
Sun, 8 May 2016 12:09:56 +0000 (13:09 +0100)
committerDr. Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
Mon, 9 May 2016 13:08:25 +0000 (14:08 +0100)
PR#4462

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
INSTALL
test/run_tests.pl

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 7d8de32..6010df3 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
      malfunction with Perl).  You may want increased verbosity, that
      can be accomplished like this:
 
-       $ HARNESS_VERBOSE=yes make test                  # Unix
+       $ make VERBOSE=1 test                            # Unix
 
-       $ DEFINE HARNESS_VERBOSE YES
+       $ DEFINE VERBOSE 1
        $ mms test                                       ! OpenVMS
 
-       $ set HARNESS_VERBOSE=yes
-       $ nmake test                                     # Windows
+       $ nmake VERBOSE=1 test                           # Windows
 
      If you want to run just one or a few specific tests, you can use
      the make variable TESTS to specify them, like this:
 
      And of course, you can combine (Unix example shown):
        
-       $ HARNESS_VERBOSE=yes make TESTS='test_rsa test_dsa' test
+       $ make VERBOSE=1 TESTS='test_rsa test_dsa' test
 
      You can find the list of available tests like this:
 
index b8fef7c..b8281ac 100644 (file)
@@ -9,6 +9,11 @@
 use strict;
 use warnings;
 
+# Recognise VERBOSE and V which is common on other projects.
+BEGIN {
+    $ENV{HARNESS_VERBOSE} = "yes" if $ENV{VERBOSE} || $ENV{V};
+}
+
 use File::Spec::Functions qw/catdir catfile curdir abs2rel rel2abs/;
 use File::Basename;
 use Test::Harness qw/runtests $switches/;