crypto/cast/asm/cast-586.pl: +5% on PIII and remove obsolete readme.
authorAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Wed, 1 Oct 2014 21:55:54 +0000 (23:55 +0200)
committerAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Wed, 1 Oct 2014 21:59:14 +0000 (23:59 +0200)
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
crypto/cast/asm/cast-586.pl
crypto/cast/asm/readme [deleted file]

index bf6810d..ec2eab1 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,9 @@
 #!/usr/local/bin/perl
 
-# define for pentium pro friendly version
+# This flag makes the inner loop one cycle longer, but generates 
+# code that runs %30 faster on the pentium pro/II, 44% faster
+# of PIII, while only %7 slower on the pentium.
+# By default, this flag is on.
 $ppro=1;
 
 $0 =~ m/(.*[\/\\])[^\/\\]+$/; $dir=$1;
@@ -140,11 +143,11 @@ sub E_CAST {
     &rotl(     $tmp4,          &LB($tmp1));
 
     if ($ppro) {
-       &mov(   $tmp2,          $tmp4);         # B
        &xor(   $tmp1,          $tmp1);
+       &mov(   $tmp2,          0xff);
        
        &movb(  &LB($tmp1),     &HB($tmp4));    # A
-       &and(   $tmp2,          0xff);
+       &and(   $tmp2,          $tmp4);
 
        &shr(   $tmp4,          16);            #
        &xor(   $tmp3,          $tmp3);
diff --git a/crypto/cast/asm/readme b/crypto/cast/asm/readme
deleted file mode 100644 (file)
index fbcd762..0000000
+++ /dev/null
@@ -1,7 +0,0 @@
-There is a ppro flag in cast-586 which turns on/off
-generation of pentium pro/II friendly code
-
-This flag makes the inner loop one cycle longer, but generates 
-code that runs %30 faster on the pentium pro/II, while only %7 slower
-on the pentium.  By default, this flag is on.
-