openssl rehash: document -compat
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 12 Apr 2018 11:30:21 +0000 (13:30 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 12 Apr 2018 13:34:58 +0000 (15:34 +0200)
Fixes #5902

Reviewed-by: Andy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/5937)

doc/man1/rehash.pod

index 79268d4..0a192e9 100644 (file)
@@ -99,6 +99,12 @@ Note that current versions will not use the old style.
 Do not remove existing links.
 This is needed when keeping new and old-style links in the same directory.
 
+=item B<-compat>
+
+Generate links for both old-style (MD5) and new-style (SHA1) hashing.
+This allows releases before 1.0.0 to use these links along-side newer
+releases.
+
 =item B<-v>
 
 Print messages about old links removed and new links created.