Announce renamed EVP_PKEY_cmp() and EVP_PKEY_cmp_parameters() in CHANGES.md
authorDr. David von Oheimb <David.von.Oheimb@siemens.com>
Wed, 3 Jun 2020 12:13:01 +0000 (14:13 +0200)
committerDr. David von Oheimb <David.von.Oheimb@siemens.com>
Fri, 5 Jun 2020 07:09:29 +0000 (09:09 +0200)
This is a follow-up of PR #12013.

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Tomas Mraz <tmraz@fedoraproject.org>
Reviewed-by: Dmitry Belyavskiy <beldmit@gmail.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/12026)

CHANGES.md

index 68fa1e0..acb4c90 100644 (file)
@@ -23,6 +23,15 @@ OpenSSL 3.0
 
 ### Changes between 1.1.1 and 3.0 [xx XXX xxxx]
 
+ * Renamed EVP_PKEY_cmp() to EVP_PKEY_eq() and
+   EVP_PKEY_cmp_parameters() to EVP_PKEY_parameters_eq().
+   While the old function names have been retained for backward compatibility
+   they should not be used in new developments
+   because their return values are confusing: Unlike other `_cmp()` functions
+   they do not return 0 in case their arguments are equal.
+
+   *David von Oheimb*
+
  * Deprecated EC_METHOD_get_field_type(). Applications should switch to
    EC_GROUP_get_field_type().