Better phrasing around 1.1.0
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 31 Jan 2019 12:42:46 +0000 (13:42 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 31 Jan 2019 15:49:30 +0000 (16:49 +0100)
Fixes #8129

Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Matthias St. Pierre <Matthias.St.Pierre@ncp-e.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/8130)

(cherry picked from commit 62b563b9df161a992fde18a0cb0d1a0969158412)

INSTALL

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 3570dea..7fe55d4 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
 
   *  COMPILING existing applications
 
-     OpenSSL 1.1.0 hides a number of structures that were previously
-     open.  This includes all internal libssl structures and a number
-     of EVP types.  Accessor functions have been added to allow
-     controlled access to the structures' data.
+     Starting with version 1.1.0, OpenSSL hides a number of structures
+     that were previously open.  This includes all internal libssl
+     structures and a number of EVP types.  Accessor functions have
+     been added to allow controlled access to the structures' data.
 
      This means that some software needs to be rewritten to adapt to
      the new ways of doing things.  This often amounts to allocating
 
  depend
                 Rebuild the dependencies in the Makefiles. This is a legacy
-                option that no longer needs to be used in OpenSSL 1.1.0.
+                option that no longer needs to be used since OpenSSL 1.1.0.
 
  install
                 Install all OpenSSL components.