Windows build: build foo.d after foo.obj
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Tue, 23 Oct 2018 08:35:48 +0000 (10:35 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Mon, 29 Oct 2018 13:28:40 +0000 (14:28 +0100)
We made the build of foo.obj depend on foo.d, meaning the latter gets
built first.  Unfortunately, the way the compiler works, we are forced
to redirect all output to foo.d, meaning that if the source contains
an error, the build fails without showing those errors.

We therefore remove the dependency and force the build of foo.d to
always happen after build of foo.obj.

Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/7469)

(cherry picked from commit ecc347f5f53a9f2edc2805d50cba07db64267e8a)

Configurations/windows-makefile.tmpl

index 13368fc..c270549 100644 (file)
@@ -594,16 +594,14 @@ $obj$objext: $deps
        \$(CC) /EP /D__ASSEMBLER__ $cflags $srcs > \$@.asm && \$(AS) $asflags \$(ASOUTFLAG)\$\@ \$@.asm
 EOF
      }
-     return <<"EOF"    if (!$disabled{makedepend});
-$obj$depext: $deps
-       \$(CC) $cflags /Zs /showIncludes $srcs 2>&1 > $obj$depext
-$obj$objext: $obj$depext
-       \$(CC) $cflags -c \$(COUTFLAG)\$\@ $srcs
-EOF
-    return <<"EOF"     if ($disabled{makedepend});
+     my $recipe = <<"EOF";
 $obj$objext: $deps
        \$(CC) $cflags -c \$(COUTFLAG)\$\@ $srcs
 EOF
+     $recipe .= <<"EOF"        unless $disabled{makedepend};
+       \$(CC) $cflags /Zs /showIncludes $srcs 2>&1 > $obj$depext
+EOF
+     return $recipe;
  }
 
  # We *know* this routine is only called when we've configure 'shared'.