Limit the output of the enc -ciphers command to just the ciphers enc can
authorPauli <paul.dale@oracle.com>
Wed, 8 Mar 2017 01:18:55 +0000 (11:18 +1000)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Wed, 8 Mar 2017 15:01:28 +0000 (10:01 -0500)
process.  This means no AEAD ciphers and no XTS mode.

Update the test script that uses this output to test cipher suites to not
filter out the now missing cipher modes.

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/2876)

apps/enc.c
test/recipes/20-test_enc_more.t

index 94c8255..1b4ec0b 100644 (file)
@@ -563,10 +563,18 @@ static void show_ciphers(const OBJ_NAME *name, void *bio_)
 {
     BIO *bio = bio_;
     static int n;
+    const EVP_CIPHER *cipher;
 
     if (!islower((unsigned char)*name->name))
         return;
 
+    /* Filter out ciphers that we cannot use */
+    cipher = EVP_get_cipherbyname(name->name);
+    if (cipher == NULL ||
+            (EVP_CIPHER_flags(cipher) & EVP_CIPH_FLAG_AEAD_CIPHER) != 0 ||
+            EVP_CIPHER_mode(cipher) == EVP_CIPH_XTS_MODE)
+        return;
+
     BIO_printf(bio, "-%-25s", name->name);
     if (++n == 3) {
         BIO_printf(bio, "\n");
index 2ea6897..1419ddb 100644 (file)
@@ -29,7 +29,7 @@ my $fail = "";
 my $cmd = "openssl";
 
 my @ciphers =
-    grep(! /wrap|hmac|poly|ocb|xts|^$|^[^-]|(?i)[cg]cm/,
+    grep(! /wrap|^$|^[^-]/,
          (map { split /\s+/ }
               run(app([$cmd, "enc", "-ciphers"]), capture => 1)));