Added reference to platform specific cryptographic acceleration such as AES-NI
authorJeffrey Walton <noloader@gmail.com>
Sat, 5 Jul 2014 21:39:08 +0000 (22:39 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Sat, 5 Jul 2014 23:03:13 +0000 (00:03 +0100)
doc/crypto/EVP_EncryptInit.pod

index 3b132c4..e440463 100644 (file)
@@ -434,7 +434,10 @@ for AES.
 
 Where possible the B<EVP> interface to symmetric ciphers should be used in
 preference to the low level interfaces. This is because the code then becomes
-transparent to the cipher used and much more flexible.
+transparent to the cipher used and much more flexible. Additionally, the
+B<EVP> interface will ensure the use of platform specific cryptographic
+acceleration such as AES-NI (the low level interfaces do not provide the
+guarantee).
 
 PKCS padding works by adding B<n> padding bytes of value B<n> to make the total 
 length of the encrypted data a multiple of the block size. Padding is always