Change default cipher in smime app to des3.
authorDr. Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
Wed, 21 May 2014 09:39:11 +0000 (10:39 +0100)
committerDr. Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
Wed, 21 May 2014 10:28:57 +0000 (11:28 +0100)
PR#3357

apps/smime.c
doc/apps/smime.pod

index c583f8a..d1fe32d 100644 (file)
@@ -541,8 +541,8 @@ int MAIN(int argc, char **argv)
                {
                if (!cipher)
                        {
                {
                if (!cipher)
                        {
-#ifndef OPENSSL_NO_RC2                 
-                       cipher = EVP_rc2_40_cbc();
+#ifndef OPENSSL_NO_DES                 
+                       cipher = EVP_des_ede3_cbc();
 #else
                        BIO_printf(bio_err, "No cipher selected\n");
                        goto end;
 #else
                        BIO_printf(bio_err, "No cipher selected\n");
                        goto end;
index 3aa6e84..d39a59a 100644 (file)
@@ -159,7 +159,7 @@ EVP_get_cipherbyname() function) can also be used preceded by a dash, for
 example B<-aes_128_cbc>. See L<B<enc>|enc(1)> for list of ciphers
 supported by your version of OpenSSL.
 
 example B<-aes_128_cbc>. See L<B<enc>|enc(1)> for list of ciphers
 supported by your version of OpenSSL.
 
-If not specified 40 bit RC2 is used. Only used with B<-encrypt>.
+If not specified triple DES is used. Only used with B<-encrypt>.
 
 =item B<-nointern>
 
 
 =item B<-nointern>