Correct the documentation about SSL_CIPHER_description()
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 3 Apr 2019 22:13:59 +0000 (23:13 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 4 Apr 2019 15:57:00 +0000 (16:57 +0100)
There are some ciphersuites that were introduced in TLSv1.0/TLSv1.1 but
are backwards compatible with SSLv3.

Fixes #8655

Reviewed-by: Paul Dale <paul.dale@oracle.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/8658)

doc/man3/SSL_CIPHER_get_name.pod

index 51c3941..1da3447 100644 (file)
@@ -124,7 +124,10 @@ Textual representation of the cipher name.
 
 =item <protocol version>
 
-Protocol version, such as B<TLSv1.2>, when the cipher was first defined.
+The minimum protocol version that the ciphersuite supports, such as B<TLSv1.2>.
+Note that this is not always the same as the protocol version in which the
+ciphersuite was first defined because some ciphersuites are backwards compatible
+with earlier protocol versions.
 
 =item Kx=<key exchange>