Fix a possible recursion in SSLfatal handling
authorBernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de>
Tue, 11 Sep 2018 09:44:13 +0000 (11:44 +0200)
committerBernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de>
Wed, 12 Sep 2018 12:43:13 +0000 (14:43 +0200)
Fixes: #7161 (hopefully)

Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/7175)

ssl/statem/statem.c

index d75f9ea..f76c0e4 100644 (file)
@@ -118,11 +118,12 @@ void ossl_statem_set_renegotiate(SSL *s)
 void ossl_statem_fatal(SSL *s, int al, int func, int reason, const char *file,
                        int line)
 {
+    ERR_put_error(ERR_LIB_SSL, func, reason, file, line);
     /* We shouldn't call SSLfatal() twice. Once is enough */
-    assert(s->statem.state != MSG_FLOW_ERROR);
+    if (s->statem.in_init && s->statem.state == MSG_FLOW_ERROR)
+      return;
     s->statem.in_init = 1;
     s->statem.state = MSG_FLOW_ERROR;
-    ERR_put_error(ERR_LIB_SSL, func, reason, file, line);
     if (al != SSL_AD_NO_ALERT
             && s->statem.enc_write_state != ENC_WRITE_STATE_INVALID)
         ssl3_send_alert(s, SSL3_AL_FATAL, al);