[SM2_sign] fix double free and return value
authorNicola Tuveri <nic.tuv@gmail.com>
Tue, 10 Apr 2018 00:19:30 +0000 (03:19 +0300)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 25 Apr 2018 09:24:43 +0000 (10:24 +0100)
Currently, critical bugs prevent using SM2 signatures through the
`EVP_PKEY` interface: any application that managed to satisfy the
requirement of forcing SM3 as the message digest – even if this is
currently not possible transparently through the `EVP_PKEY` interface
and requires manually forcing the MD selection – would crash with a
segmentation fault upon calling the `SM2_sign()` function.

This is easily verified using the OpenSSL CLI to execute this critical
code path under the right conditions:
`openssl dgst -sm3 -hex -sign sm2.eckey /path/to/file/to/sign`

The issue is caused by a double free at the end of `SM2_sign()` in
`crypto/sm2/sm2_sign.c` in case of successful signature generation.
In addition, even if the double free was not causing segfaults,
the function returns the wrong return value in case of success (it
would return 0 rather than 1).

This patch fixes both problems.

Reviewed-by: Bernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de>
Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6066)

crypto/sm2/sm2_sign.c

index 12ccd28..e12eca1 100644 (file)
@@ -279,9 +279,7 @@ int SM2_sign(int type, const unsigned char *dgst, int dgstlen,
 
     *siglen = i2d_ECDSA_SIG(s, &sig);
 
-    ECDSA_SIG_free(s);
-
-    ret = 0;
+    ret = 1;
 
  done:
     ECDSA_SIG_free(s);