Add NEWS entry about deprecation of command line public tools
authorPauli <paul.dale@oracle.com>
Mon, 10 Feb 2020 00:23:57 +0000 (10:23 +1000)
committerPauli <paul.dale@oracle.com>
Tue, 11 Feb 2020 22:52:42 +0000 (08:52 +1000)
Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/10977)

NEWS

diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index 4d7f0d0..ac3372d 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -7,6 +7,9 @@
 
   Major changes between OpenSSL 1.1.1 and OpenSSL 3.0.0 [under development]
 
+      o The algorithm specific public key command line applications have
+        been deprecated.  These include dhparam, gendsa and others.  The pkey
+        alternatives should be used intead: pkey, pkeyparam and genpkey.
       o X509 certificates signed using SHA1 are no longer allowed at security
         level 1 or higher. The default security level for TLS is 1, so
         certificates signed using SHA1 are by default no longer trusted to