Don't crash if there are no trusted certs
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 18 Apr 2018 13:20:29 +0000 (14:20 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 19 Apr 2018 08:01:14 +0000 (09:01 +0100)
The X509_STORE_CTX_init() docs explicitly allow a NULL parameter for the
X509_STORE. Therefore we shouldn't crash if we subsequently call
X509_verify_cert() and no X509_STORE has been set.

Fixes #2462

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6003)

crypto/x509/x509_lu.c

index b742480..3d18ea9 100644 (file)
@@ -311,7 +311,11 @@ int X509_STORE_get_by_subject(X509_STORE_CTX *vs, int type, X509_NAME *name,
     X509_OBJECT stmp, *tmp;
     int i, j;
 
+    if (ctx == NULL)
+        return 0;
+
     CRYPTO_w_lock(CRYPTO_LOCK_X509_STORE);
+
     tmp = X509_OBJECT_retrieve_by_subject(ctx->objs, type, name);
     CRYPTO_w_unlock(CRYPTO_LOCK_X509_STORE);
 
@@ -506,6 +510,10 @@ STACK_OF(X509) *X509_STORE_get1_certs(X509_STORE_CTX *ctx, X509_NAME *nm)
     STACK_OF(X509) *sk;
     X509 *x;
     X509_OBJECT *obj;
+
+    if (ctx->ctx == NULL)
+        return NULL;
+
     sk = sk_X509_new_null();
     CRYPTO_w_lock(CRYPTO_LOCK_X509_STORE);
     idx = x509_object_idx_cnt(ctx->ctx->objs, X509_LU_X509, nm, &cnt);
@@ -551,6 +559,11 @@ STACK_OF(X509_CRL) *X509_STORE_get1_crls(X509_STORE_CTX *ctx, X509_NAME *nm)
     STACK_OF(X509_CRL) *sk;
     X509_CRL *x;
     X509_OBJECT *obj, xobj;
+
+
+    if (ctx->ctx == NULL)
+        return NULL;
+
     sk = sk_X509_CRL_new_null();
     CRYPTO_w_lock(CRYPTO_LOCK_X509_STORE);
 
@@ -651,6 +664,9 @@ int X509_STORE_CTX_get1_issuer(X509 **issuer, X509_STORE_CTX *ctx, X509 *x)
     }
     X509_OBJECT_free_contents(&obj);
 
+    if (ctx->ctx == NULL)
+        return 0;
+
     /* Else find index of first cert accepted by 'check_issued' */
     ret = 0;
     CRYPTO_w_lock(CRYPTO_LOCK_X509_STORE);