Return if ssleay_rand_add called with zero num.
authorDr. Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
Sun, 6 Apr 2014 22:11:20 +0000 (23:11 +0100)
committerDr. Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
Mon, 7 Apr 2014 16:53:31 +0000 (17:53 +0100)
Treat a zero length passed to ssleay_rand_add a no op: the existing logic
zeroes the md value which is very bad. OpenSSL itself never does this
internally and the actual call doesn't make sense as it would be passing
zero bytes of entropy.

Thanks to Marcus Meissner <meissner@suse.de> for reporting this bug.

crypto/rand/md_rand.c

index dd29163..aee1c30 100644 (file)
@@ -198,6 +198,9 @@ static void ssleay_rand_add(const void *buf, int num, double add)
        EVP_MD_CTX m;
        int do_not_lock;
 
+       if (!num)
+               return;
+
        /*
         * (Based on the rand(3) manpage)
         *