poly1305/asm/poly1305-armv4.pl: remove unintentional relocation.
authorRahul Chaudhry <rahulchaudhry@google.com>
Fri, 13 Apr 2018 17:42:13 +0000 (10:42 -0700)
committerAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Wed, 18 Apr 2018 17:47:53 +0000 (19:47 +0200)
Branch to global symbol results in reference to PLT, and when compiling
for THUMB-2 - in a R_ARM_THM_JUMP19 relocation. Some linkers don't
support this relocation (ld.gold), while others can end up truncating
the relocation to fit (ld.bfd).

Convert this branch through PLT into a direct branch that the assembler
can resolve locally.

See https://github.com/android-ndk/ndk/issues/337 for background.

The current workaround is to disable poly1305 optimization assembly,
which is not optimal and can be reverted after this patch:
https://github.com/freedesktop/gstreamer-cerbero/commit/beab607d2b1ff23c41b7e01aa9c64be5e247d1e6

CLA: trivial

Reviewed-by: Andy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/5949)

crypto/poly1305/asm/poly1305-armv4.pl

index fc899ce..699021f 100755 (executable)
@@ -186,6 +186,7 @@ $code.=<<___;
 .type  poly1305_blocks,%function
 .align 5
 poly1305_blocks:
+.Lpoly1305_blocks:
        stmdb   sp!,{r3-r11,lr}
 
        ands    $len,$len,#-16
@@ -677,7 +678,7 @@ poly1305_blocks_neon:
        cmp     $len,#64
        bhs     .Lenter_neon
        tst     ip,ip                   @ is_base2_26?
-       beq     poly1305_blocks
+       beq     .Lpoly1305_blocks
 
 .Lenter_neon:
        stmdb   sp!,{r4-r7}