README.PERL: clarify "matching" Perl requirement on Windows.
authorAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Thu, 5 May 2016 15:07:06 +0000 (17:07 +0200)
committerAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Fri, 6 May 2016 07:49:39 +0000 (09:49 +0200)
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
README.PERL

index 184b377..eda812d 100644 (file)
  Notes on Perl on Windows
  ------------------------
 
- If you will build on Cygwin (and possibly some other POSIX layers),
- Perl is already part of your distribution.  Simply use the Cygwin
- package manager to make sure Perl gets installed.
-
- Otherwise, you will need to install Perl separately.  The Perl
package that we know of is ActiveState Perl, available from
+ There are a number of build targets that can be viewed as "Windows".
+ Indeed, there are VC-* configs targeting VisualStudio C, as well as
+ MinGW and Cygwin. The key recommendation is to use "matching" Perl,
+ one that matches build environment. For example, if you will build
+ on Cygwin be sure to use the Cygwin package manager to install Perl.
For VC-* builds we recommend ActiveState Perl, available from
  http://www.activestate.com/ActivePerl.
 
  Notes on Perl on VMS