RT3511: doc fix; req default serial is random
authorAdam Williamson <awilliam@redhat.com>
Sun, 31 Aug 2014 22:22:09 +0000 (18:22 -0400)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Mon, 1 Sep 2014 03:40:56 +0000 (23:40 -0400)
RT842, closed back in 2004, changed the default serial number
to be a random number rather than zero.  Finally time to update
the doc

Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
doc/apps/req.pod

index ad538ca0b2c9b14f22f86ec03bf89b36f0e1390f..eb840be87fe1126da90445fb29e88afeba6a7910 100644 (file)
@@ -235,8 +235,8 @@ this option outputs a self signed certificate instead of a certificate
 request. This is typically used to generate a test certificate or
 a self signed root CA. The extensions added to the certificate
 (if any) are specified in the configuration file. Unless specified
 request. This is typically used to generate a test certificate or
 a self signed root CA. The extensions added to the certificate
 (if any) are specified in the configuration file. Unless specified
-using the B<set_serial> option B<0> will be used for the serial
-number.
+using the B<set_serial> option, a large random number will be used for
+the serial number.
 
 =item B<-days n>
 
 
 =item B<-days n>