Clear secret stack values after use in the ED25519-functions
authorBernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de>
Thu, 24 Aug 2017 06:09:31 +0000 (08:09 +0200)
committerBernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de>
Fri, 25 Aug 2017 14:36:21 +0000 (16:36 +0200)
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/4242)

crypto/ec/curve25519.c

index 5c71826..8002b3e 100644 (file)
@@ -4639,7 +4639,6 @@ int ED25519_sign(uint8_t *out_sig, const uint8_t *message, size_t message_len,
 int ED25519_verify(const uint8_t *message, size_t message_len,
                    const uint8_t signature[64], const uint8_t public_key[32]) {
   ge_p3 A;
-  uint8_t pkcopy[32];
   uint8_t rcopy[32];
   uint8_t scopy[32];
   SHA512_CTX hash_ctx;
@@ -4655,7 +4654,6 @@ int ED25519_verify(const uint8_t *message, size_t message_len,
   fe_neg(A.X, A.X);
   fe_neg(A.T, A.T);
 
-  memcpy(pkcopy, public_key, 32);
   memcpy(rcopy, signature, 32);
   memcpy(scopy, signature + 32, 32);
 
@@ -4687,6 +4685,8 @@ void ED25519_public_from_private(uint8_t out_public_key[32],
 
   ge_scalarmult_base(&A, az);
   ge_p3_tobytes(out_public_key, &A);
+
+  OPENSSL_cleanse(az, sizeof(az));
 }
 
 int X25519(uint8_t out_shared_key[32], const uint8_t private_key[32],