MANSUFFIX should be left empty
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Mon, 15 Feb 2016 12:37:17 +0000 (13:37 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Mon, 15 Feb 2016 13:16:07 +0000 (14:16 +0100)
That variable isn't for us, it's for any user, distributor or package
builder that wants one after the section number.  "ssl" seems to be
popular...

Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Configurations/unix-Makefile.tmpl

index 726784f..9cbab43 100644 (file)
@@ -85,7 +85,10 @@ ENGINESDIR={- use File::Spec::Functions;
 MANDIR=$(INSTALLTOP)/share/man
 HTMLDIR=$(INSTALLTOP)/share/doc/$(BASENAME)/html
 
-MANSUFFIX=ssl
+# MANSUFFIX is for the benefit of anyone who may want to have a suffix
+# appended after the manpage file section number.  "ssl" is popular,
+# resulting in files such as config.5ssl rather than config.5.
+MANSUFFIX=
 HTMLSUFFIX=html