Updates CHANGES and NEWS for new release
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Mon, 26 Sep 2016 08:43:45 +0000 (09:43 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Mon, 26 Sep 2016 09:24:37 +0000 (10:24 +0100)
Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
CHANGES
NEWS

diff --git a/CHANGES b/CHANGES
index 97e70ac..eb18673 100644 (file)
--- a/CHANGES
+++ b/CHANGES
      https://www.akkadia.org/drepper/SHA-crypt.txt
      [Richard Levitte]
 
+ Changes between 1.1.0a and 1.1.0b [26 Sep 2016]
+
+  *) Fix Use After Free for large message sizes
+
+     The patch applied to address CVE-2016-6307 resulted in an issue where if a
+     message larger than approx 16k is received then the underlying buffer to
+     store the incoming message is reallocated and moved. Unfortunately a
+     dangling pointer to the old location is left which results in an attempt to
+     write to the previously freed location. This is likely to result in a
+     crash, however it could potentially lead to execution of arbitrary code.
+
+     This issue only affects OpenSSL 1.1.0a.
+
+     This issue was reported to OpenSSL by Robert Święcki.
+     (CVE-2016-6309)
+     [Matt Caswell]
+
  Changes between 1.1.0 and 1.1.0a [22 Sep 2016]
 
   *) OCSP Status Request extension unbounded memory growth
diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index bdb7a4f..82d1cb1 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -9,6 +9,10 @@
 
       o
 
+  Major changes between OpenSSL 1.1.0a and OpenSSL 1.1.0b [26 Sep 2016]
+
+      o Fix Use After Free for large message sizes (CVE-2016-6309)
+
   Major changes between OpenSSL 1.1.0 and OpenSSL 1.1.0a [22 Sep 2016]
 
       o OCSP Status Request extension unbounded memory growth (CVE-2016-6304)