Fix NETSCAPE_SPKI_print function to not assume NUL terminated strings
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 19 Aug 2021 11:23:38 +0000 (12:23 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Tue, 24 Aug 2021 12:18:55 +0000 (13:18 +0100)
ASN.1 strings may not be NUL terminated. Don't assume they are.

CVE-2021-3712

Reviewed-by: Viktor Dukhovni <viktor@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Paul Dale <pauli@openssl.org>
crypto/asn1/t_spki.c

index 51b56d0..64ee77e 100644 (file)
@@ -38,7 +38,7 @@ int NETSCAPE_SPKI_print(BIO *out, NETSCAPE_SPKI *spki)
     }
     chal = spki->spkac->challenge;
     if (chal->length)
-        BIO_printf(out, "  Challenge String: %s\n", chal->data);
+        BIO_printf(out, "  Challenge String: %.*s\n", chal->length, chal->data);
     i = OBJ_obj2nid(spki->sig_algor.algorithm);
     BIO_printf(out, "  Signature Algorithm: %s",
                (i == NID_undef) ? "UNKNOWN" : OBJ_nid2ln(i));