Ensure EVP_EncodeUpdate handles an output length that is too long
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Mon, 25 Apr 2016 08:06:29 +0000 (09:06 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Tue, 3 May 2016 10:56:23 +0000 (11:56 +0100)
With the EVP_EncodeUpdate function it is the caller's responsibility to
determine how big the output buffer should be. The function writes the
amount actually used to |*outl|. However this could go negative with a
sufficiently large value for |inl|. We add a check for this error
condition.

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
crypto/evp/encode.c

index 6f862fa..ee10543 100644 (file)
@@ -56,6 +56,7 @@
  */
 
 #include <stdio.h>
+#include <limits.h>
 #include "internal/cryptlib.h"
 #include <openssl/evp.h>
 #include "evp_locl.h"
@@ -165,7 +166,7 @@ void EVP_EncodeUpdate(EVP_ENCODE_CTX *ctx, unsigned char *out, int *outl,
                       const unsigned char *in, int inl)
 {
     int i, j;
-    unsigned int total = 0;
+    size_t total = 0;
 
     *outl = 0;
     if (inl <= 0)
@@ -188,7 +189,7 @@ void EVP_EncodeUpdate(EVP_ENCODE_CTX *ctx, unsigned char *out, int *outl,
         *out = '\0';
         total = j + 1;
     }
-    while (inl >= ctx->length) {
+    while (inl >= ctx->length && total <= INT_MAX) {
         j = EVP_EncodeBlock(out, in, ctx->length);
         in += ctx->length;
         inl -= ctx->length;
@@ -197,6 +198,11 @@ void EVP_EncodeUpdate(EVP_ENCODE_CTX *ctx, unsigned char *out, int *outl,
         *out = '\0';
         total += j + 1;
     }
+    if (total > INT_MAX) {
+        /* Too much output data! */
+        *outl = 0;
+        return;
+    }
     if (inl != 0)
         memcpy(&(ctx->enc_data[0]), in, inl);
     ctx->num = inl;