RT3940: For now, just document the issue.
authorRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Sat, 13 Aug 2016 14:47:50 +0000 (10:47 -0400)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Fri, 19 Aug 2016 15:45:07 +0000 (11:45 -0400)
Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
doc/apps/cms.pod
doc/apps/smime.pod

index b654613..d5529be 100644 (file)
@@ -122,6 +122,9 @@ encrypt mail for the given recipient certificates. Input file is the message
 to be encrypted. The output file is the encrypted mail in MIME format. The
 actual CMS type is <B>EnvelopedData<B>.
 
+Note that no revocation check is done for the recipient cert, so if that
+key has been compromised, others may be able to decrypt the text.
+
 =item B<-decrypt>
 
 decrypt mail using the supplied certificate and private key. Expects an
index 2c7661d..ba59eda 100644 (file)
@@ -90,6 +90,9 @@ Print out a usage message.
 encrypt mail for the given recipient certificates. Input file is the message
 to be encrypted. The output file is the encrypted mail in MIME format.
 
+Note that no revocation check is done for the recipient cert, so if that
+key has been compromised, others may be able to decrypt the text.
+
 =item B<-decrypt>
 
 decrypt mail using the supplied certificate and private key. Expects an