perlasm/x86_64-xlate.pl: add commentary.
authorAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Wed, 8 Jun 2016 13:55:35 +0000 (15:55 +0200)
committerAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Tue, 14 Jun 2016 20:50:47 +0000 (22:50 +0200)
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
crypto/perlasm/x86_64-xlate.pl

index f050b23..391362d 100755 (executable)
@@ -692,7 +692,13 @@ sub rex {
    push @$opcode,($rex|0x40) if ($rex);
 }
 
-# older gas and ml64 don't handle SSE>2 instructions
+# Upon initial x86_64 introduction SSE>2 extensions were not introduced
+# yet. In order not to be bothered by tracing exact assembler versions,
+# but at the same time to provide a bare security minimum of AES-NI, we
+# hard-code some instructions. Extensions past AES-NI on the other hand
+# are traced by examining assembler version in individual perlasm
+# modules...
+
 my %regrm = (  "%eax"=>0, "%ecx"=>1, "%edx"=>2, "%ebx"=>3,
                "%esp"=>4, "%ebp"=>5, "%esi"=>6, "%edi"=>7      );