Remove some logically dead code
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Tue, 29 May 2018 13:55:45 +0000 (14:55 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 31 May 2018 09:38:51 +0000 (10:38 +0100)
Found by coverity. This is an artifact left over from the original
decaf import which generated the source code for different curves. For
curve 448 this is dead.

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6373)

crypto/ec/curve448/eddsa.c

index d318876..85565a8 100644 (file)
@@ -253,7 +253,6 @@ c448_error_t c448_ed448_verify(
         curve448_point_decode_like_eddsa_and_mul_by_ratio(pk_point, pubkey);
     curve448_scalar_t challenge_scalar;
     curve448_scalar_t response_scalar;
-    unsigned int c;
 
     if (C448_SUCCESS != error)
         return error;
@@ -291,9 +290,6 @@ c448_error_t c448_ed448_verify(
                                 &signature[EDDSA_448_PUBLIC_BYTES],
                                 EDDSA_448_PRIVATE_BYTES);
 
-    for (c = 1; c < C448_EDDSA_DECODE_RATIO; c <<= 1)
-        curve448_scalar_add(response_scalar, response_scalar, response_scalar);
-
     /* pk_point = -c(x(P)) + (cx + k)G = kG */
     curve448_base_double_scalarmul_non_secret(pk_point,
                                               response_scalar,