Refactoring BIO: Add a few lines in CHANGES & NEWS
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 3 Feb 2016 00:04:44 +0000 (01:04 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 3 Feb 2016 19:38:48 +0000 (20:38 +0100)
Reviewed-by: Kurt Roeckx <kurt@openssl.org>
CHANGES
NEWS

diff --git a/CHANGES b/CHANGES
index fc5b8cb..e8bc442 100644 (file)
--- a/CHANGES
+++ b/CHANGES
@@ -4,6 +4,16 @@
 
  Changes between 1.0.2f and 1.1.0  [xx XXX xxxx]
 
+  *) Rewrite of BIO networking library. The BIO library lacked consistent
+     support of IPv6, and adding it required some more extensive
+     modifications.  This introduces the BIO_ADDR and BIO_ADDRINFO types,
+     which hold all types of addresses and chains of address information.
+     It also introduces a new API, with functions like BIO_socket,
+     BIO_connect, BIO_listen, BIO_lookup and a rewrite of BIO_accept.
+     The source/sink BIOs BIO_s_connect, BIO_s_accept and BIO_s_datagram
+     have been adapted accordingly.
+     [Richard Levitte]
+
   *) RSA_padding_check_PKCS1_type_1 now accepts inputs with and without
      the leading 0-byte.
      [Emilia K√§sper]
diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index 5fc6b6c..b33af1c 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -32,6 +32,7 @@
       o Change of Configure to use --prefix as the main installation
         directory location rather than --openssldir.  The latter becomes
         the directory for certs, private key and openssl.cnf exclusively.
+      o Reworked BIO networking library, with full support for IPv6.
 
   Major changes between OpenSSL 1.0.2e and OpenSSL 1.0.2f [28 Jan 2016]