Docs for OpenSSL_init_crypto: there is no way to specify another file
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Fri, 13 Apr 2018 06:19:54 +0000 (08:19 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Fri, 13 Apr 2018 08:24:18 +0000 (10:24 +0200)
The documentation erroneously stated that one can change the default
configuration file name.

Fixes #5939

Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/5941)

doc/man3/OPENSSL_init_crypto.pod

index c6a1715..b979c25 100644 (file)
@@ -197,10 +197,10 @@ resources should be freed at an earlier time, or under the circumstances
 described in the NOTES section below.
 
 The B<OPENSSL_INIT_LOAD_CONFIG> flag will load a default configuration
-file.  To specify a different file, an B<OPENSSL_INIT_SETTINGS> must
-be created and used. The routines
-OPENSSL_INIT_new() and OPENSSL_INIT_set_config_appname() can be used to
-allocate the object and set the application name, and then the
+file. For optional configuration file settings, an B<OPENSSL_INIT_SETTINGS>
+must be created and used.
+The routines OPENSSL_init_new() and OPENSSL_INIT_set_config_appname() can
+be used to allocate the object and set the application name, and then the
 object can be released with OPENSSL_INIT_free() when done.
 
 =head1 NOTES